Birmingham Airport main sponsor of Midlands Media Awards for 2013

Birmingham Press Club has launched its Midlands Media Awards for 2013 – with new categories for Blogger of the Year and Best News Website.

Paul Kehoe, CEO of Birmingham Airport and Heart FM's Ed James at Birmingham Airport

Against the backdrop of Birmingham Airport’s new control tower, Airport CEO Paul Kehoe (left) agrees sponsorship of the Midlands Media Awards with Birmingham Press Club chairman Ed James

“The media sector is a fast-moving and rapidly-changing industry and we have acknowledged that by paying due regard to the digital age,” said Press Club Chairman Ed James.

And in a further nod to technology, for the first time ever, journalists, photographers and broadcasters throughout the East and West Midlands will be able to submit their entries on-line. Postal entries will still be received, however.

Ed James, breakfast presenter on Heart FM, also revealed that Birmingham Airport would again be main sponsor for the event, which will take place in June.

He said:  “Birmingham Airport has been a staunch supporter of Birmingham Press Club over many years and we are delighted to have again secured its backing for another year.

“The awards evening is the Press Club’s flagship event – and one that is eagerly-awaited by everyone, not just those in the media industry but by our many supporters as well.”

Paul Kehoe, CEO of Birmingham Airport, said: “We’re delighted to be supporting this important Midlands media event for the seventh year.  The awards programme has gone from strength to strength and gives the deserved recognition to talent that is so prevalent in our region within the dynamic world of 24 hour news.”

Now in their 12th year, the awards recognise the achievements of journalists and photographers working within the region’s newspapers, magazines, digital platforms, television and radio.

Paula Kelsey, managing director of Cloud 9, the event management company, which is organising the awards on behalf of the Press Club, said that entries for the awards’ 21 categories had to be received by March 22nd.  A short-list of nominations will be announced on May 13th.

Full details on how to enter the awards are obtainable from Paula Kelsey on 0115 841 9699 or 07774 741883 or by e-mailing [email protected] and details are also on the official Midlands Media Awards website

Companies seeking sponsorship opportunities, or anyone requiring further information about the awards evening, should also contact Paula Kelsey.

This year the categories are:

  • Blogger of the Year (New)
  • Business Journalist of the Year
  • Campaign of the Year (New)
  • Columnist of the Year
  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Headline of the Year
  • Journalist of the Year
  • Magazine or Supplement of the Year
  • Public Choice (New)
  • Newcomer Student of the Year
  • Newspaper of the Year
  • News Photographer of the Year
  • News Photos of the Year
  • News Reporter of the Year (Daily)
  • News Reporter of the Year (Weekly)
  • News Website of the Year
  • Radio Journalist of the Year
  • Scoop of the Year
  • Sports Journalist of the Year
  • Sports Photographer of the Year
  • Television Journalist of the Year

[otw_is sidebar=otw-sidebar-1]