Sutton MP wins website Usability Award

Andrew Mitchell, MP for Sutton Coldfield, has received the Usability Award in the MP Web Awards organised by BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT.

The Awards recognise MPs who have embraced web technologies, and are using them to engage effectively with their constituents.

Andrew Mitchell MPRunners up for the Usability Award included George Freeman, MP for Mid Norfolk; and Emily Thornberry, MP for Islington South and Finsbury.

All MPs’ sites are automatically entered and judges look for MPs who are using their websites and web technology to communicate with their constituents effectively. The Awards were judged by an independent panel of guest judges including: Mark Say, Editor of Guardian Government Computing; Oussama Kardi, Deputy Member of Youth Parliament for Hillingdon; and Ian Dunt, Editor of

Andrew Mitchell MP said, “In this day and age it’s important for MPs to have good, easy to use websites so that constituents know how to get in touch and can follow what we’re doing locally.  I know many local residents use my website to contact me and I’m pleased that it seems to be doing its job well!”

David Clarke, MBE, Chief Executive Officer, BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, says: “Congratulations to Andrew for winning this year’s award for Usability; it is a great achievement. For many, usability of a website is key; ensuring the user can navigate around the site quickly and effectively. The judges believed Andrew’s site was very clean and simple to use, making it a worthy winner.”

Other categories included:

Engagement Award:

Winner: Jim Murphy MP

Finalists: Robert Halfon MP, Luciana Berger MP and George Freeman MP

Social Media Award:

Winner: David Miliband MP

Finalists: Ed Miliband MP and James Morris MP

Accessibility Award, presented in conjunction with AbilityNet:

Winner: Chris Grayling MP

Finalists: Jim Fitzpatrick MP, Tony Cunningham MP and John Bercow MP

Overall Award:

Winner: George Freeman MP

Finalists: Dan Byles MP and Luciana Berger MP

George Freeman MP was a strong overall winner with Dan Byles MP and Luciana Berger MP also highly commended for their websites having scored well for engagement, social media and usability.

David Clarke concludes: “I would like to extend my congratulations to all winners and finalists. Our MP Web Awards demonstrate the way MPs communicate online with their constituents today. I would also like to thank all the judges who took part in the Awards, their efforts ensure that we encourage MPs to improve their websites and celebrate those who are doing well.”